Professional Conversion Program (PCP)

I went down to school to get my letter of undertaking signed with WDA today because I got selected by a company for my internship!!

I really thank God for His blessings to be selected at the eleventh hour. A little introduction about the Professional Conversion Program (PCP). It’s a program which WDA will subsidize you around 70% course fees and also give you a monthly allowance should you be selected by a company for an internship. Thus I will be going for my 3 month course followed by a 2 month internship. In return, I have to work 5 months in the fashion industry.

I had some concerns about whether I will be able to find a job after I graduate, but the friendly lady from WDA assured me that I can seek Taftc’s help if I can’t find any job after 3 months. Well, I really hope my internship with the company will lead to a permanent position.

The course seems really intensive when I went for the briefing last week. Every week will end with an assessment, as each module usually takes 4-5 days. And Yikes, I discovered one of the modules is on the Sat which I am going for my engage encounter retreat. After discussion with the school and my bf, I decide to skip class on that day to go for the retreat. To reschedule the retreat is a huge hassle as bf has already planned his leave in advance for it.
Luckily, that module is a theory module, I guess I just have to study extra hard to make up for loss time. Hope all goes well! *fingers crossed*

Well, it does takes lot of courage to switch lanes at this point in time, as I am also planning a wedding some time next year. Recently after looking at all the costs of a wedding, I do have some doubts on whether the career switch at this point in time is wise… But next week will be the start of my big school day, so still looking forward to it and hope all goes well!

You can find more information about WSQ Diploma in fashion technology here http://www.taftc.org/programmes/choose-by-qualification/diploma/

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 07:10:34

    Hi, is it ok if u can share which company selected u for the internship? i am also thinking of switching jobs and am looking into this course too.

    Reply

  2. Min
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 16:33:39

    Hi there! I chanced upon your blog while researching about taf.tc internship programmes.
    Do you mind if i ask what course are you taking in taf.tc? 🙂

    P.S. im really glad you’re posting about studying in taf.tc, i’m sure it’d help many people who are interested in the programme like me 😀

    Reply

    • ashiu77
      May 01, 2014 @ 13:41:02

      Hi Min, I am taking the course Diploma in Fashion Technology- Product Development and Apparel Design

      Reply

      • Min
        May 03, 2014 @ 15:21:04

        Thanks for the reply! 🙂
        I’m actually interested in their global internship programme, do you know of anyone who’s currently in this progamme? I wonder what countries do the school send the students to.

      • ashiu77
        May 03, 2014 @ 23:53:10

        I don’t know anyone in the program for this batch. The countries for global program are usually China, Vietnam or Cambodia. I heard some rumors that they may expand to other countries this year but nothing has been confirmed. You can call Taf.tc to enquire more 🙂

      • ashiu77
        May 07, 2014 @ 06:46:52

        Oh dear I am not sure if I replied you earlier. I don’t know anyone in the global programme. I heard that its mainly for countries like Vietnam, China and Cambodia. There are some rumors of plans to send interns to New York, however that has not been finalized yet. You can call the school to find out more 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 5,689 hits
