The ‘No Poo’ Hair experiment

I was really intrigued by a Facebook post that I saw about going shampoo free and using only Baking Soda and Apple Cider Vinegar that I went to try it. My hair gets greasy pretty fast, so I have to wash it every day or every two days else it will look like a disaster.
My main reason of trying this out is simply wanting to find a solution to my hair. I tried various shampoos and I still can’t find the right one for my hair, so I hope this works.
What you do is mix two tablespoons of baking soda in 500ml of water or you half that if you have short hair like me. Then rinse it out and then follow with one tablespoon of apple cider vinegar mix with 500ml of water and rinse it out.
Well since its my first try I forgot to rinse out the acv, however the smell dissipates really fast and I googled a few blogs and there are people who don’t rinse it out, so I hope there is no damage to my hair.
I’m sitting here typing this blog and the hair is still in the process of air-drying. What I liked about the baking soda solution is that it gets rid of the grease really fast. I really want to try the no wash experiment where you don’t wash your hair at all for a month. They say it really allows the hair to regain its natural balance and stop over producing sebum. However, I think I will look really disgusting if i try that, so I will try it in future during my confinement month, after giving birth, where based on popular chinese belief you are not supposed to wash your hair for a month any way. I will update the results again for this experiment after trying for a while. ^^

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 5,896 hits
