Review of Body shop Rainforest Balance Shampoo

I chanced upon this shampoo while on a short getaway last weekend.

20140817-185457.jpg

I was looking for an alternative to shampoo after my ‘no poo’ hair experiment ended and what attracted me to this shampoo was that it claimed to have no sulfates, no silicones and no parabens. That appeals to me as many blogs have written that it is the SLS in shampoo which strips the hair of natural oils and cause the scalp to over-produce oils resulting in a greasy scalp.

As it is sulfate-free, there is not as much foam compared to a regular shampoo. The instructions did suggest to work the shampoo into a lather using your hand before applying to the scalp and I find that helps. It has a nice floral scent too. The first few days after using it, my scalp quickly turned greasy. However, after persevering for a week, my scalp started to adjust to the shampoo and the hair started to look great. I think the transition time is shorter this time round and it could be since I was on my ‘no poo’ hair experiment previously, thus my hair has already started to detox from the sulphates and silicones.

It doesn’t cut the grease as well as a regular shampoo, so I do find myself having to wash the hair 2-3 times more in the shower to get my hair clean. But one wash can usually last me 2 days, which is better than in the past where I have to wash my hair daily.

And I managed to get my hands on rye flour finally and will be trying that out next. I will post my updates later. Until then, have a happy Sunday! ^^

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 5,896 hits
