Back to Draping ^^

I must confess I actually wrote this blog post last month and I couldn’t publish it earlier as I have exceeded my data plan for last month, I wonder if anyone else faces this problem. I never seem to exceed when I was on iPhone 4 and of course my old plan of 12Gb. Now I’m surviving on 3G network and a paltry 3Gb data every month.call me a tech dinosaur, but I don’t have wifi at home.

Anyway, enough of my data rant, back to sewing! πŸ™‚ 

I am determined to continue sewing even after going back to the corporate world, so this morning I pushed through and continued with my draping. I mentioned the cowl skirt in my earlier post and was toying with the idea of turning it into a one piece, as I wear dresses more than skirts. Much thought was placed into the fabric. I wanted something not too casual, as I will still love to wear it to work but yet not too formal that it loses the fun drapey feel of it.

I initially wanted to do a toile, but lazy me decide to forgo it and drape directly on the mannequin with the actual fabric. I am glad I did that. I still have leftover lovely purple viscose fabric that I got in a sale in expensive Chinatown, so I used that. Why I am glad I didn’t do a toile, is that by right you have to find another fabric that is of the same weight as your fabric. However, initially I wanted to use the white sheeting cotton for the toile. And after using the actual fabric, I realized how very different it would have been if I have used the sheeting cotton for the toile.
Still, I will find a day to true the actual pattern from the drape pattern I had from my La Salle short course. The final result is something I love a lot. I like the length and especially the back. Still thinking about the zip placement. I know I should have fixed all these prior to draping, but I got caught with just moving with the fabric. There’s a little concern about the pleats at the waist area. I followed what I learned during draping class in La Salle, but now I wonder if it will add bulk to my waist with the numerous pleats? 
 

The front with the many pleats at the side, wonder if it adds bulk to the waist

 
The front portion, I initially wanted to do a centre seam but planning to change it to one with a slight overlap as I think that looks much nicer. But as I have limited fabric I may still end up with a centre seam eventually, as I have to do a self- fabric lining if I overlap, will try to sort it out as I go along..
By right I should do the lining piece first, from my past experience in the short course in Taipei (How I missed that school) but as I was concerned about my fabric, and wanted to get a feel of how it will turn out. Thus I went ahead with the actual design first. It still lacks the bodice and I am going to do horizontal stripes for that. Will continue to update this project as I go along πŸ™‚

The lovely back, still trying to figure out the zip placement, its probably gonna be centre back as I’m creating pockets at the side for this cowl skirt

It’s still a work in progress and what do you guys think? Please feel free to leave a comment. 😊

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 5,896 hits
