My love hate relationship with organza

I am taking a short break after battling with sewing organza. It’s one of the fabric I will be using for my competition piece, however it’s a pain to sew. It frays like crazy and just sewing the hem made me feel like taking a break even though I am abit behind schedule.

see how much it frays?


One of the tips I have learnt while interning with F is that we can use a flame to burn the edges and thereby sealing it nicely. However, as this is the competition piece and I only bought just enough for the organza, I can’t bring myself to use this method. Thoughts of turning the fabric black and accidentally burning down the house flashed through my mind. However, I must say that I did do it before when I had the luxury of time and it is one of the better methods to seal off the hem of organza neatly. 

So I ended up with a crappy hem, not the best I did and the twist is quite bad, though I hope a good iron will rectify most of it. I don’t really wish to unpick it as it will just get worse with all the fraying. (I tried in the past).

Thank God that halfway through sewing, I suddenly remembered I need to cut the fabric into 2 pieces to accommodate the zip. But I am putting off cutting as the moment I cut, its going to mega fray again. Sigh.

Still I love Organza, it gives the garment a nice floaty quality which is what I am looking for in this dress and I am really happy when it’s pinned onto the mannequin but of course not when I am sewing. That’s when swear words starts to form in my mind and there’s nothing I can do but be patient and plow through it.


I have moved my sewing machine back home, now it’s temporarily housed in Hub’s old room.


I really missed the ample space I had at my friend’s house. His old room was so stuffy that I had to request he moved my fan from our bedroom to his old room. I realised I really need a conducive space to sew and a happy me produce better work. 

And with the ironing board so far away and the ironing room is like the maid domain (it’s on the first floor, room is on the 3rd..) I missed those times when I can happily iron at every stage and basically leave fabric scraps on the floor since my friend wasn’t at home and I can clean up later. Since I am sharing a house with Hub family, you can’t help but be on tender hooks of keeping the work space as tidy as possible. 

Oh well, break time over, back to ploughing the machine.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 5,896 hits
